Appointment of Committee Chairs

Part B Section 26 (Council Procedure Rules) of the Council's Constitution states that the Council will appoint a Member to serve as Chair of each Committee established as part of this report. If the Council does not, the Committee may appoint a Chair from amongst the Members appointed to the Committee by the Council. Each Committee may appoint a Vice-Chair from amongst its Members.

In accordance with the above, the Council is requested to appoint the Chairs of the committees listed below, to serve for the municipal year 2024/25 or until either (i) they resign the position, (ii) are no longer a member of the Council or the Committee concerned or (iii) a successor is appointed, whichever is the sooner.

Any nominations received in advance of the Council meeting shall be tabled. Any nominations received at the meeting will be reported verbally.

Committee	Nominations received for Chair
Overview & Scrutiny Committee	Councillor Jahed Choudhury
Development Committee	Councillor Iqbal Hossain
Strategic Development Committee	Councillor Amin Rahman
General Purposes Committee	Councillor Ahmodul Kabir
Audit Committee	Councillor Harun Miah
Pensions Committee	Councillor Ana Miah
Licensing Committee	Councillor Peter Golds
Human Resources Committee	Councillor Abdul Malik

Note that Council has delegated to the Standards Advisory Committee the authority to appoint its own Chair from amongst its Co-opted Members.